Monza Superpole: Biaggi smashes best lap record to secure pole

1 of 1

World Champion Max Biaggi annihilated his own best lap record of Monza to secure pole position for Sunday’s two 18 lap races. The factory Alitalia Aprilia rider led the final Superpole session comfortably before using his final qualifying tyre to set a new best lap and jump 0.648 seconds clear of his rivals.

Biaggi’s pole position was the first of 2011 and only the third during his WSB career.

Biaggi said: “I’m really happy, this is the first Italian race of the year and Monza is a track that always has a very special atmosphere. I was able to use the qualifying tyre in the right way, but this is one thing, the important thing is the two races tomorrow.”

Second place went to Irishman Eugene Laverty who backed up his impressive weekend long pace to secure his place on the front row of the grid. The factory Yamaha rider has made ongoing changes to his R1 and now looks smooth and comfortable on the Superbike.

Jonathan Rea stepped up to the mark in Superpole to secure his place on the front row and will be joined by a rejuvenated Troy Corser onboard the BMW.

Marco Melandri did well to tame his lose Yamaha R1 to secure fifth spot ahead of hard charging Brit Leon Haslam, Michel Fabrizio and Noriyuki Haga.

Championship leader Carlos Checa can expect a tough day at the office tomorrow after qualifying for the two races in 11th place and on the third row of the grid. He’ll be joined by Brit Leon Camier who was unable to match his impressive free practice pace during Superpole.

Kawasaki men Joan Lascorz and Tom Sykes suffered a major setback for race day when neither men were able to qualify in the top 12 despite showing strong pace earlier in the day. As a result both riders will line-up on the fourth row alongside Jakub Smrz and Maxime Berger.

James Toseland will not race tomorrow and Chris Vermeulen will make a decision in the morning on whether he will compete following his heavy crash on Friday.

Monza - SUPERBIKE - Superpole 3

1.  Max BiaggiAprilia RSV4 (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 1'41.745 Factory
2.  Eugene LavertyYamaha YZF (Yamaha World Superbike Team) 1'42.393 R1
3.  Jonathan ReaHonda (Castrol Honda) 1'42.614 CBR1000RR
4.  Troy CorserBMW S1000 (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) 1'42.688 RR
5.  Marco MelandriYamaha YZF (Yamaha World Superbike Team) 1'42.714 R1
6.  Leon HaslamBMW S1000 (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) 1'42.723 RR
7.  Michel FabrizioSuzuki (Team Suzuki Alstare) 1'42.954 GSX-R1000
8.  Noriyuki HagaAprilia RSV4 (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) 1'43.043 Factory
9.  Ayrton BadoviniBMW (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) 1'42.886 S1000 RR
10.  Leon CamierAprilia (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 1'42.995 RSV4 Factory
11.  Carlos ChecaDucati (Althea Racing) 1'43.116 1098R
12. Sylvain  Guintoli1'43.146 Ducati 1098R (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing)
13.  Joan LascorzKawasaki (Kawasaki Racing Team) 1'43.090 ZX-10R
14.  Tom SykesKawasaki (Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike) 1'43.437 ZX-10R
15.  Jakub SmrzDucati (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) 1'43.993 1098R
16.  Maxime BergerDucati (Supersonic Racing Team) 1'44.005 1098R
17.  Ruben XausHonda (Castrol Honda) 1'44.216 CBR1000RR
18.  Roberto RolfoKawasaki (Team Pedercini) 1'44.515 ZX-10R
19.  James ToselandBMW (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) 1'44.989 S1000 RR
20.  Mark AitchisonKawasaki (Team Pedercini) 1'45.022 ZX-10R
21.  Fabrizio LaiHonda (Echo Sport Racing Company) 1'45.739 CBR1000RR
22.  Chris VermeulenKawasaki (Kawasaki Racing Team)  ZX-10R


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Michael Guy

By Michael Guy

Sports Editor, former 250-racer and adventure rider