Ad closing in seconds....

Moscow WSB: Sofuoglu wins to extend championship lead while Lowes stutters

Published: 26 August 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Kenan Sofuoglu secured victory in the 10th round of the World Supersport championship to extend his championship lead to a commanding 33 points.

Sofuoglu’s victory came after an intense early battle with Frenchman Jules Cluzel, but in the closing laps Sofuoglu’s superior pace saw him pull away to win by over five seconds.

Sofuoglu said: “This is an important win for me because in the last three rounds I had the chance to win, but didn’t because of some bad luck. Today I finally won again and I am happy.”

Third place went to Vladimir Leonov who responded brilliantly to racing in front of his home crowd to secure his and his Yakhnich Motorsport’s first ever WSS podium.

It was a bitterly disappointing day for Brit Sam Lowes who after qualifying on the front row jumped the start and was penalised with a ride through penalty which dropped him to 30th place. The Bogdanka PTR Honda rider fought his way back to 12th place but has now dropped to third in the championship standings two points behind Cluzel and 35 points behind Sofuoglu.

Moscow - FIM Supersport World Championship - Race

1. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 36'13.935
2. Jules Cluzel (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 36'18.957
3. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 36'26.953
4. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki Lorenzini) Kawasaki ZX-6R 36'30.439
5. Broc Parkes (Ten Kate Racing Products) Honda CBR600RR 36'46.503
6. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 36'47.789
7. Andrea Antonelli (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 36'48.312
8. Gabor Talmacsi (PRORACE) Honda CBR600RR 36'48.406
9. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 36'51.662
10. Mathew Scholtz (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 36'51.737
11. Alex Baldolini (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 36'52.038
12. Sam Lowes (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 36'56.580
13. Ronan Quarmby (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 36'56.719
14. Florian Marino (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 37'08.688
15. Luca Marconi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 37'14.085
16. Dan Linfoot (MSD R-N Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 37'14.196
17. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 37'14.480
18. Valentin Debise (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 37'19.124
19. Martin Jessopp (Riders PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 37'19.939
20. Balazs Nemeth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 37'27.445
21. Maxime Averkin (HELL Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 37'28.661
22. Federico D'Annunzio (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 37'29.443
23. Dino Lombardi (Team PATA by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 37'31.090
24. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 37'31.916
25. Danilo Marrancone (KUJA Racing) Honda CBR600RR 37'32.586
26. Robin Mulhauser (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 37'33.144
27. Sergei Krapukhin (DMC Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 36'21.123
28. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Yamaha YZF R6 37'01.498
RT. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Yamaha YZF R6 36'12.990
RT. Andrzej Chmielewski (Bogdanka Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 28'19.249
RT. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Power Team by Suriano) Triumph Daytona 675 15'53.674
RT. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki Intermoto Step) Kawasaki ZX-6R 13'26.554
RT. Joshua Day (Team GOELEVEN) Kawasaki ZX-6R 14'21.072
RT. Jed Metcher (Rivamoto Junior Team) Yamaha YZF R6 3'28.283

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)