Ad closing in seconds....

Moscow WSS Q1 - Sofuoglu from Lowes at Moscow Raceway

Published: 19 July 2013

Updated: 24 November 2014

Kenan Sofuoglu drew first blood in Russia to secure provisional pole position for round eight of the World Supersport Championship at the Moscow Raceway.

His 1’38.088 lap time was more than 0.152 seconds ahead of championship leader Sam Lowes and 0.6 seconds better than Lowes’ Yakhnich Motorsports Yamaha team-mate Vladimir Leonov in third.

Kawasaki privateer Alessandro Antonelli (GO Eleven Team) placed fourth, with few riders able to improve on their early pace when the white flags came out late in the 45-minute session to warn of some small spots of rain on the track in places.

Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto Honda) was seventh, after placing third in the first free practice session earlier in the day, while Kevin Coghlan (DMC Kawasaki) was tenth in first qualifying. MV Agusta rider Christian Iddon finished in 14th with PTR Honda rider Luke Mossey in 25th.

Moscow - FIM Supersport World Championship - Qualifying 1

1. Kenan Sofuoglu (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'38.088
2. Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'38.240
3. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'38.691
4. Andrea Antonelli (Team Goeleven) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'38.792
5. Alex Baldolini (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'38.919
6. Michael Vd Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'38.975
7. Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.249
8. Fabien Foret (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.295
9. Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'39.378
10. Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.406
11. Massimo Roccoli (Team Pata by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.424
12. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.519
13. Florian Marino (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.559
14. Christian Iddon (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'39.618
15. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'39.719
16. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'39.749
17. Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'39.751
18. Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'39.821
19. Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.098
20. Valentin Debise (Prorace) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.283
21. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.314
22. David Linortner (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'40.978
23. Kenny Noyes (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.095
24. Nacho Calero Perez (Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.369
25. Luke Mossey (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'41.372
26. Sergei Krapukhin (RWT-ALPHA Sport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'41.998
27. Alexey Ivanov (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'42.611
28. Matt Davies (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'42.748
29. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'43.858


Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)