WSB Portimão Race Two: Disaster for Sykes as Laverty takes victory

1 of 1

It was a disastrous second race in Portimão for pole-sitter, Tom Sykes after he dropped his bike on the sighting lap; smashing his screen, denting his tank and requiring a brake lever change from the pit-lane before being forced to start the race from his Kawasaki KRT garage.

This effectively meant that Eugene Laverty – who had his own misfortune in race one when his bike failure forced his retirement – was starting from pole, with race one winner Melandri also left with a clear view of the track in front of him.

Even this pit-start proved unfruitful however, as Sykes – suffering from complications caused from his brake lever replacement – returned to the garage with two laps gone and then didn’t return until the leaders where already completing their seventh lap. Jonathan Rea – yet another rider who had suffered with issues, his in race one when a misplaced component had caused his engine to expire – took advantage of his enhanced grid position, with an excellent start alongside Laverty, and by lap seven it was this pair that had gained a two second lead over Melandri and Guintoli behind them. 

Marco Melandri soon fell off of the pace however, with his rear tyre degrading at an alarming rate causing him to drop down the race positions; effectively leaving the final podium places – but not the order – being decided by lap twelve.

And so, Aprilia’s Eugene Laverty took his fourth win of the season – the most by a single rider so far this year – from his teammate Sylvain Guintoli in second (extending his championship lead over Sykes to twenty-eight points) and Jonathan Rea in third.

Leon Haslam, Rea’s Pata Honda team-mate, failed to start race two, after suffering severe ‘pump’ to his right-arm during the first time out, a complication of having over-compensate for the injuries that he sustained in Assen, which he is still recovering from.

Portimao – FIM Superbike World Championship – Race 2

1. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’02.051
2. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’06.158
3. Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 38’07.904
4. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 38’17.357
5. Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 38’19.603
6. Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 38’20.417
7. Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 38’31.443
8. Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 38’40.410
9. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’41.372
10. Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’46.654
11. Max Neukirchner (MR-Racing) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 38’47.390
12. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 38’47.480
13. Federico Sandi (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 39’18.361
14. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 39’18.426
15. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 39’20.354
16. Ivan Clementi (HTM Racing) BMW S1000 RR 39’26.310
NC. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 38’22.688
RT. Leon Camier (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 19’11.662
Steve Hunt

By Steve Hunt