Roads: Ian Hutchinson ruled out of this year's Isle of Man TT by ACU

1 of 1

Ian Hutchinson will miss this year’s Isle of Man TT after his racing licence was revoked for 12 months due to health reasons.

The 16-time TT race winner suffered a stroke earlier this year whilst cycling in Spain, later revealing that Bennetts British Superbike Championship rider Jason O’Halloran came to his aid. “Jason O’Halloran saved my life,” Hutchinson said on social media. “All good now, thank you more than I can ever believe mate.”

Hutchinson was set to compete the TAS Racing Milwaukee BMW team at this year’s TT, however given his situation, it’s standard protocol with racing’s governing body, the Auto-Cycle Union (ACU) to revoke his racing licence.

“Ian’s day-to-day health is of paramount important to all involved and while he’s making a remarkable recovery, and has already given the all-clear to drive his car, rules are rules and we must respect them,” the team said in a statement.

“Ian is obviously bitterly disappointed after putting in the hard yards over the winter months, spinning many laps on a TAS Racing prepared Milwaukee BMW M1000 RR Superstock specification machine in Spain.”

Hutchinson will still be present at the TT, representing Milwaukee and the team during race week on the Milwaukee stand within the main paddock area.

The team will also be at the North West 200 with Alastair Seeley, who is also contesting this year’s National Superstock Championship with the team.

“First and foremost, our concerns as with Ian and we look forward to supporting him on his road to making a full recovery,” Team Principal, Philip Neill said. “Clearly, we are disappointed to miss our for Isle of Man TT in 23 years – aside from the Covid years of course.

“Everything was in place for this year’s event together with Milwaukee and our other valued partners. Now we look forward to finalising our plans for the NW200 and another BSB season.”

This year’s Isle of Man TT gets underway on March 29, with the race schedule as follows:

June 3 – Supersport Race One / Sidecar Race One

June 4 – Superbike TT

June 6 – Superstock Race One / Supertwin Race One

June 7 – Supersport Race Two / Sidecar Race Two

June 9 – Superstock Race Two / Supertwin Race Two

June 10 – Senior TT