BSB: Storm Stacey to remain with GR Motosport for fifth consecutive season

Storm Stacey will remain with the GR Motorsport team for a fifth consecutive Bennetts British Superbike Championship campaign in 2024.

Stacey also raced with the team in the Junior Superstock class before making his Superbike debut at the age of just 17. If the season hadn’t been delayed due to Covid-19, Stacey would have become the youngest-ever BSB rider in the championship’s history.

2023 was his strongest season yet in BSB with Stacey ending his campaign 13th overall with 140.5 points. Impressing multiple times in qualifying and then in races, Stacey took a best result of sixth at Donington Park and recorded 10 top 10 results. He also qualified on the front row at Oulton Park.

“It has been a mega season, and I am happy to be staying with Brent and the GR Motosport Team next year,” Stacey said. “We had some great results this season, including my best with the sixth place and next year we can definitely push for more!”

Team Owner Brent Gladwin added: “It has been a great 2023 season, and it has had some ups and downs, but we have finished it off strongly and we wanted to let everyone know that our journey with Storm Stacey continues at GR Motorsport into the new season.

“A lot of the hard work has come from Danny Wright working behind the scenes in the garage with the whole team and we are looking forward to building on this year as we look ahead to 2024.”

Stacey joins Jason O’Halloran, Max Cook and Danny Kent in knowing where he’s going to be racing next year. O’Halloran swaps McAMS Yamaha for Completely Motorcycles Kawasaki following his former team’s departure from the championship, whilst Cook will race alongside the Aussie after an impressive rookie campaign.

Meanwhile, Kent has signed for Mar-Train Yamaha and will work with Chris ‘Spanner’ Anderson next season, whilst Danny Buchan will return to Kawasaki machinery after joining DAO Racing. Davey Todd takes the seat vacated by Buchan at TAS Racing.

Elsewhere, OMG Racing (Kyle Ryde and Ryan Vickers) and FHO Racing (Peter Hickman and Josh Brookes) have already confirmed that their line-ups will remain the same.

The C&L Fairburn Properties/Jackson Racing team will join the new Pathway Class with Billy McConnell and Jaimie van Sikkelerus.