Vote now: MCN Rider of the Year 2019


Peter Hickman 2018 Rider of the Year
Peter Hickman 2018 Rider of the Year


You can now vote for the MCN Rider of the Year 2019. It’s been another fantastic year of racing across the different championships and disciplines. Our panel of experts have put together a shortlist of five riders for you to choose from. 

The Shortlist 

  • Scott Redding (2019 BSB Champion)

He came, he saw, he conquered. Scott Redding left the hustle and bustle of the MotoGP paddock and came back home to challenge for the BSB crown. Some said he wouldn’t be able to handle the circuits or adapt to the superbike. Redding quickly proved them wrong. In a year-long battle with teammate Josh Brookes, Redding won the title at the first attempt. He moves to the factory Ducati squad in WSB next year and will be a big loss to the BSB paddock. 

  • Jonathan Rea (2019 WSB Champion)

Jonathan Rea became the first rider in history to become a five-time WSB champion. In doing so he overtakes Carl Fogarty (4) in the record books. He didn't have it all his own way though. Alvaro Bautista won the opening 11 races and looked set to end Rea’s dominance. It wasn’t to be. Rea overturned a 61-point deficit to win the title by 165 points, a swing of 226 in just 19 races. 

  • Marc Marquez (2019 MotoGP Champion)

Marc Marquez continued to break records in 2019 as he dominated MotoGP once again. He won his sixth premier class title and it was arguably his most comfortable triumph yet. Marquez won 12 races and finished in the top two in 18 of the 19 races. He also scored the most points in MotoGP history, ending the year on 420. 

  • Peter Hickman (TT Race Winner & Ulster Grand Prix Record Breaker)

Last year’s Racer of the Year continued to shine on the roads in 2019. Peter Hickman secured a hat-trick of victories at the Isle of Man TT to take his total to five. He then won seven races at the Ulster Grand Prix and broke the lap record with a 136.415mph average. This speed saw the event reclaim the title of the 'World’s Fastest Road Race'. Hickman also won the Superstock race at the North West 200 and finished inside the Showdown in BSB.

  • Dean Harrison (Senior TT Winner) 

Dean Harrison captured his maiden Senior TT victory and Kawasaki’s first since Mick Grant in 1975. Harrison was able to take full advantage when Peter Hickman’s Smith Racing BMW was hit with cooling issues. The 30-year-old now has three TT victories to his name and looks set to push Hickman all the way in 2020.  

How to Vote

To vote for your MCN Rider of the Year 2019 simply choose your favourite from the shortlist below and enter your details. Voting closes at midnight on February 13, 2020. 

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Promos…

Josh Close

By Josh Close

Sports Reporter and fan of all things motorsport.